The Velvet Café

A room for thoughts about movies

The film that purred

with 17 comments

The following story is true, even if it probably sounds so silly that you may think I’ve made it up. I share it with you just because I try to be honest in my blogging, even about embarrassing things.

It happened the other night as I watched Elena. Since it was a Russian movie and I’ve got prejudices about those, I was prepared for something pretty slow and heavy, and chances were also that it would involve symbolism that was beyond my comprehension. To make sure to stay fresh I had taken precautions and increased my coffee intake over the day as much as I could without risking having to take bio breaks during the screening. I was ready for any kind of artfulness, weirdness and slowness and I was determined to not fall asleep or think that anything was weird. My mind was wide open for whatever would come.

That’s how it came that I came up with an explanation when I first noticed the sound of an engine that came and went, sometimes loud, blending into the music by Philip Glass, sometimes barely noticeable. It was as if someone was driving a scooter in a far distance and I thought to myself: “This will get an explanation eventually. Perhaps it’s the sound of something we’re going to see later on? Perhaps this is what the unhappy woman hears in her mind. Maybe she’s dreaming of taking off somewhere, maybe the scooter is a symbol of the freedom she’d like to get. And when we hear it louder, she’s closer to reach it and when we don’t hear it as she doesn’t feel it as strong”

The engine sound went on and on and after a while it changed in my head. I came to think that it probably wasn’t a scooter after all; I couldn’t truthfully sense the smell of petrol from this lady. Not the type. But this didn’t prevent me from coming up with a new, clever explanation:

Of course it wasn’t a vehicle I heard; it was the sound of a purring cat! She was actually purring inside and depending on how happy or unhappy she was, she’d purr loudly or quietly. To be fair I couldn’t successfully associate exactly what was going on at the screen with the level of purring. She seemed to be happy for strange reasons. The purring level didn’t make sense. But again: it was an artsy Russian movie, so what did I know?

I was positive it all would come together. Towards the very end of the film, the engine sound went up on a new level and I knew, I just KNEW it must be a scooter after all, the purring cat was out of the picture now, and I waited for the motorbike to turn up. Soon we’d see her take off on it towards the horizon!

And I waited. And waited. And waited. I even sat stupidly through the aftertext and waited, perhaps there would be one of those funny little extra scenes where the source of the purring would be revealed. But it didn’t come and they lit the light in the salon and this was it. It was over.

The truth
It was only then, as I walked out of the theatre, that I overheard a conversation between a couple of people from the audience and a staff member and realized the truth.

That sound wasn’t intentional. Something was broken. There shouldn’t be any purring engine in this movie. “Or at least there’s none that I’ve heard of”, she added as a disclaimer.

We looked at each other, a moment of awkwardness. How was it that no one had figured this out during the screening? And then we started to confess. It turned out that I wasn’t the only one who had tried to make sense of the sound rather than question it. It was an art house movie, so you have to assume that everything is working as intended, even when it doesn’t work at all.

Neither of us demanded our money back. We all knew there was none: this was the last remaining stand-alone theatre in our city and every day it survives is a miracle. What mattered most to us was that they could fix the machinery as soon as possible. This salon had been closed down for a couple of months after a water leakage and this had meant that the amount of available independent movies had been cut in half. We didn’t want to see that again due to issues with purring.

A gloomy film
But I suppose it’s about time I say a few words about the film. Did I take anything from it, apart from my own creative ideas about scooter engines and inner purring?

Indeed I did.  This is the second movie I see by Andrei Zyvagintsev. The last one was The Return (2003) a low budget movie that became a big success among critics and got several awards when it came out. The story about two boys on an outing with their abusive father, who tries to reconnect to them after a long absence, was beautifully shot and as bleak as you could imagine, every moment oozing of Russian melancholy. I fell in love with it and thought that this was a director I wanted to return to.

Elena is also a film about gloom. We see gloomy people in gloomy settings, leading gloomy lives with gloomy prospects. Elena and Vladimir is a couple in their sixties, both with grown up children from previous marriages.Vladimiris the one with the money, while Elena comes from poor conditions. Her son is unemployed and doesn’t seem to have much other ambition in life but to beg Elena for financial support him and his growing family. Elena sees no other way but to beg her husband for money, even if she knows he doesn’t like that and thinks that her son should be able to provide for himself. After a heart attack Vladmir ends up in a hospital and decides to make arrangements for what will happen to his fortune in case of his death, a plan that isn’t in the line of what Elena would like to see. The question is what she’s going to do about it.

Lack of sympathy
In some ways Elena reminds of The Return, in the way that they’re both about people who live under harsh conditions and struggle to survive. They make decisions and take actions that not always are good or advisable, but which make sense if you see it from their perspective.

There is one big difference however, namely how you sympathize with them. While my heart was bleeding for the abused children, in The Return and I had very little understanding for the father figure, it’s not quite as easy to take a side in the story in Elena, to pick a hero and stick with it.

I suppose some people would argue that it’s unfair that some people live in luxury and others in poverty. Perhaps there is some moral obligation here that says thatVladimirshould help out his wife’s family financially now that he has the opportunity. After all – they’re relatives. He seems like a coldhearted, egotistical old bastard, who just uses the poor Elena as a free housemaid, giving her very little love and attention in return, never really looking at her as an equal since she comes from a different class.

On the other hand – the way Elena’s family behaves makes me cringe. If they’re poor, they seem to have put themselves in that position or at least they’ve made no effort whatsoever to break out of it by their own means. They’re a lazy and ungrateful lot and if someone asked me to support them, I’d hesitate to do so, at least not unconditionally.

While I did feel a little bit sorry for Elena, who is pressed from two directions, by her husband and her son, I wasn’t as devastated about her misery as I was watching the little boys in The Return. This makes for a slightly less engaging film.

But even so, it’s still very good, crafted in a minimalist way, where even long shots in complete silence are filled with meaning and tension. I can’t pinpoint why, but all that coffee drinking was clearly overkill from my side. I had no difficulties whatsoever to stay awake and interested to see what direction the story would take. I couldn’t tell where it would end until it ended and this is something I always appreciate in movies.

There are some very good acting performances, where Nadezhda Markina who plays Elena stands out. Her combination of vulnerability and a silent, inner motherly strength, reminded me of actresses such as Liv Ullmann and Pernilla August. The music is also remarkably powerful, especially contrasted to the periods of complete silence.

Or, well, as silent as it could be with the engine sound in the background.

But that’s a special version I’m afraid neither you, nor anyone else ever will get to see. They only showed it once, but I’ll never forget it. The film that purred.

Elena (Andrei Zvyagintsev, RU, 2011) My rating: 4/5

Written by Jessica

May 8, 2012 at 1:00 am

Posted in Elena

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha that’s brilliant. I love you you thought it was a cat. Art house movies eh? Great review though.

    Mark Walker

    May 8, 2012 at 1:42 am

    • It looks so silly looking back. But I assure you – it made sense as I watched it!

      Jessica

      May 8, 2012 at 7:34 am

  2. That’s funny. I’ve had that something similar happen to me before with a fire alarm going off in the building next door, and me thinking it was part of the soundtrack and trying to ascribe some meaning to it.

    This was one of my favorite films from the past year. I loved the long shots that unfold slowly, and the remarkable performance from the lead actress. I do agree with you that it was hard to pick a hero, but I don’t necessarily need one when it’s such a captivating window into interesting lives.

    Bonjour Tristesse

    May 8, 2012 at 3:44 am

    • Ouch. That could be dangerous! But don’t tell me movie goers aren’t trying to immerse themselves into movies. We’re up for just about anything, always trying to embrace what they toss at us.

      I’m glad you liked it too! You’re a man with good tastes so I’m not surprised to be honest. Now to hope that more people get a chance to watch it.

      Jessica

      May 8, 2012 at 7:36 am

  3. This reminds me of the story of the initial cinema screenings of Gaspar Noe’s Irreversible, a great but incredibly, incredibly tough movie. If you haven’t seen it, the first 45 minutes of the movie consists of several scenes of vicious (though justified for the film’s purpose) violence including a nine-minute rape and a man smashing another man’s head in with a fire extinguisher as other men look on pleasuring themselves. Not light and cuddly stuff, eh? But the thing that really bothered the audience was that they felt sick during all this in a way they couldn’t explain, even during parts that weren’t particularly excessive. The reason that they felt sick is that Noe had intentionally used low-frequency sound on the film’s soundtrack, which is inaudible to the human ear, but induces strong waves of nausea and illness (much like being seasick). So many people attribute their sickness to the film’s violence, when in actuality it is Gaspar Noe’s trick to make them feel even more uncomfortable while watching. Clever stuff.

    Tyler

    May 8, 2012 at 5:47 am

    • I have yet to see that movie. Not entirely sure I want to to be honest. The low frequency sound sounds sneaky. Could you perhaps say it’s 4D? In a less obvious way than splashing water in people’s faces.

      Jessica

      May 8, 2012 at 7:38 am

      • Sure, I think you could call it 4D. But that would make it less appealing. It’s a clever trick I admire from Noe.

        Tyler

        May 8, 2012 at 9:34 am

  4. Another great post (as always). That’s a great anecdote, with the purring 🙂

    fernandorafael

    May 8, 2012 at 7:13 am

    • Thank you! I couldn’t resist sharing it. I felt so stupid and I thought that perhaps someone else had experienced something along those lines. Shared embarrassement feels better you know.

      Jessica

      May 8, 2012 at 7:39 am

  5. That is very honest of you… and hilarious. I can imagine arty people trying to justify the fact that the purring is a juxtaposition of society and welfare or something like that… only to be an error!!

    Thanks for sharing matey

    • Thank you! Mind you, I’m not mocking the movie as much as I’m mocking myself. As a matter of fact I loved the movie and it has my best recommencations. Even without the purring.

      Jessica

      May 8, 2012 at 11:00 am

  6. Haha, funny read. I had a similar experience when watching the briliant Last Life in the Universe in a movie theatre. There was a strange clicking noice on and off through out the movie and I couldn’t decide if it was part of the movie or something wrong with the machinery. Turns out it was part of movie. It was the sound of a thai house gecko, that obviously lived in the house that a large part of the movie takes place in.

    Jojjenito

    May 17, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    • Oh dear! Here’s a comment I’ve missed to reply to! That’s embarrassing. I usually don’t do that. My apologies.

      Anyway: what a fun story about the clicking sound that actually DID turn out to be a part of the film! Thanks for sharing!

      Jessica

      June 10, 2012 at 1:03 am

      • No problemo. Btw, the director of Elena (easier to write like that then spell his name) made one of my favorite movie from the 00s, The Return, but I still haven’t seen any of his two latest. Sometimes it never really feels like the right moment for heavy movies.

        Jojjenito

        June 10, 2012 at 11:54 am

        • I loved The Return, which I watched last year, but I haven’t watched anything else apart from now Elena. I know what you mean. I too feel some reluctance against throwing myself into this type of movies. But once you do it they’re often less daunting than you had imagined.

          Jessica

          June 10, 2012 at 12:10 pm

  7. […] Elena: If you think of Russia as gloomy, Elena gives you right.  This is a film about gloomy people in gloomy settings, leading gloomy lives with gloomy prospects. My problem with it was that I couldn’t sympathize with the people it depictured. Still it was well crafted in a minimalist way, where even long shots in complete silence are filled with meaning and tension. […]


Leave a comment