The Velvet Café

A room for thoughts about movies

The best movies about food are those where there is none

with 22 comments

Let’s talk about film food. And no, it’s not another rant about how much we all hate popcorn. It’s about what’s on the screen. What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you think about food in movies.

For me it’s THAT scene at the restaurant in Monty Python’s The Meaning of Life. I don’t think you want me to talk about it, so we’re stop there.

Number two to pop up in my mind is La Grande Bouffe, where Marcello Mastroianni and his friends purposely and as far as I recall successfully eat themselves to death.

And then my mind drifts off to the futuristic cannibalism of Delicatessen. And cannibalism in turn opens up to a field of choices, ranging from The Silence of the Lambs to Alive!

Yes, I’m a sick, sick person.

In an attempt to appear as a normal person, I should obviously speak about good, uncontroversial food related movies, such as Sideways, Dinner Rush or Babette’s Feast.

I’m not going to do that though. It doesn’t raise my appetite to watch people helping themselves at lavish dinner tables such as the one in Marie Antoinette. If anything it makes me disgusted. But show me someone who is hungry for real, someone who is on the verge of starving to death – and I’ll think about food in a new way. After watching such a movie, a meal that I’d normally consider trivial, like having an apple or a sandwich, turns into a luxury.

The Road
The best movies about food are those where you don’t see much of it. It’s present as a dream.  In this post I’m going to talk about one of them, The Road from 2009, which I recently paid a revisit. Do you remember it? If you’ve seen it, I bet you do. The image of the man-without-a-name and his son, walking through a world in ruins after an undefined disaster, with all their possessions in a shopping cart, doesn’t go away anytime soon. They’re sick, they’re freezing, they fear for their lives every second, afraid to become victims to cannibals.

I didn’t read movie blogs when it came out, so it was only later that I found out that it wasn’t overly well received. The film is based on a praised novel, and those who have read it claim that the adaption is inferior. To me it’s a non issue, since I’ve only seen the movie.

Some people accused it of being too much of a crowd pleaser, not dark enough, out of fear of scaring away the audience. Then there were others who claimed the opposite, thinking it was unbearably gloomy.

Unaware of the criticism, I loved it without any reservations when it came out and on my rewatch I found that it was just as good as I remembered it. It’s the harshest – and at the same time most believable – picture of the final days of mankind I’ve seen. And it’s so much more than just a survival story set in the future. It brings up all those questions – about ethics, about what it means to be human, about where our boundaries go and what makes life worth living at all. Would we or wouldn’t we eat other people if our survival depended on it? Even if we consider ourselves “good” people, is there a point where the survival instinct will take the overhand and lead us in a different direction? Is suicide ever justifiable? Each one of us will have a different answer to those questions, but in the end it’s all just speculation. We don’t know where we really stand until we’ve been in those shoes ourselves.

The Coke can scene
Back to the food again. While we don’t see much of it, it’s right there in the middle of The Road. When you strip your life from everything non-essential, it’s what it’s all about. Bread and water. Or a can of Coke. One day the father finds it, stuck in a vending machine and he insists on his son to have it. Judging from his reaction it might be the first he’s ever had, being born after the point when the world fell apart. The shared soda becomes a bubble of, if not happiness, at least temporary relief from everything that plagues them. Living in a world where people buy soft drinks in two liter bottles, I can’t help wondering if this abundance has made our senses numb. We don’t feel the taste from the drink anymore. We just drink it anyway, not enjoying it particularly much and aware of that it doesn’t do us any good.

Another memorable scene is when they find a shelter full of canned food. For the first time in the movie they have a real meal. It’s food that we normally would sneer at, but in this context it becomes an extraordinary dinner.

Put in that light, today’s dinner of macaroni and some fried sausages doesn’t appear all that bad.

And that’s why I watch movies in the first place: to challenge my perspective on life. It’s like with a snow globe. It needs a little shake-up once in a while to remain beautiful.


This post is a part of a blogathon run by the Swedish film blogging network Filmspanarna. The theme was “food”.  Here’s a list of links to the other participants.

Written by Jessica

October 31, 2012 at 8:00 am

Posted in Filmspanarna, The Road

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh, The Road. That sad sad movie. I cried my eyes out and couldn’t eat for days… So food and this movie really is a perfect match.

    Fiffi

    October 31, 2012 at 8:08 am

    • Couldn’t eat for days… That sounds like a bad food/movie match! 😉

      Jessica

      November 5, 2012 at 8:16 pm

  2. A lovely post about the things we tend to take for granted… But I have to admit I was about to go the Zombie/Cannibalism-way myself 😉

    Sofia

    October 31, 2012 at 8:31 am

    • Thanks Sofia! And I can’t think of a better guide in zombie/cannibalist movies than you!

      Jessica

      November 5, 2012 at 8:15 pm

  3. Great way to describe it and you are right about the eating of food in The Road, it is a moment I remember more vividly than other movies where food is eaten. Another one I immediately have to think of is Blindness in which lots of food is found in a hidden spot in a supermarket.

    Nostra

    October 31, 2012 at 9:17 am

    • Thanks! Yes, it’s very memorable indeed. I often forget movies ever so quickly, but this one has stuck for some reason.

      I haven’t seen Blindness, but maybe it’s something I should check out.

      Jessica

      November 5, 2012 at 8:14 pm

  4. Excellent post matey!! That scene is a great highlight in ne of the most depressing films I have ever seen!! I liked it though

    • Thanks Scott! Yes, I think it’s great. And there are movies that have left me far more depressed. Naked, for an example.

      Jessica

      November 5, 2012 at 8:12 pm

  5. I still haven’t seen this movie. The book depressed me so much that I don’t know if I can do it.

    Dave Enkosky

    October 31, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    • I haven’t read the book so I can’t compare really. The world is gloomy, but still… I don’t know. There are movies that have left me more depressed than this one. I think it conveys a glimpse of hope in the midst of the darkness.

      Jessica

      November 5, 2012 at 8:11 pm

  6. The single best movie about food ever is Tampopo. Please see it soon.

    SJHoneywell

    October 31, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    • Never heard of it before. But I’ll make a mental note about it in case I stumble upon it.

      Jessica

      November 5, 2012 at 8:08 pm

  7. Your comment about the Coke may be true. I rarely drink pop, so when I do, it’s more special. Not as much as for someone who has never had it or who will have all their calories for a week from it, but it’s more than a mere sugary liquid.

    klepsacovic

    October 31, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    • The more you refrain from it, the better will it get. Maybe we should put up a “not-more-than-once-a-year” limit, and it would become quite enjoyable!

      Jessica

      November 5, 2012 at 8:07 pm

  8. Great post! I have yet to see The Road but loved Delicatessen!

    moviewriting

    November 1, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    • I loved it too. If I had been able to get my hand on it I would have rewatched it for this post. But you should give The Road a chance!

      Jessica

      November 5, 2012 at 8:06 pm

  9. Beautiful post, Jessica. You’re so right. That Coke scene was very poignant and it stuck in my mind since I saw the movie (which I loved, by the way). Kodi Smit McPhee was SO good.

    fernandorafael

    November 2, 2012 at 7:23 am

    • Thanks! It’s one of several great food scenes. Another one is when they find a storage full of food and have a wonderful meal. Then there are other “food” scenes that you’d rather forget… *shivers*

      Jessica

      November 5, 2012 at 8:02 pm

  10. It would be so darn awesome to try a can of bubbly Coke for the first time.

    johan

    November 5, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    • Indeed! I think there’s a connection between the access you have to it and how good it tastes.

      Jessica

      November 5, 2012 at 7:39 pm

  11. I never did watch The Road, but I remember being terribly intrigued by the whole story. For some reason I never ended up reading or watching it though. Thanks for the reminder of it.

    Max

    November 5, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    • Go ahead and watch it! I think it’s wonderful, though a bit gloomy. It’s strange to me that it hasn’t got more love than it has.

      Jessica

      November 5, 2012 at 10:57 pm


Leave a comment