The Velvet Café

A room for thoughts about movies

On lamb parties we devour movies

with 10 comments

A  couple of weeks ago I met up online with a few other lambs, members of The Large Association of Movie Blogs.

We talked about films we’d seen lately, in my case Tomboy.

We raged over things that have annoyed us. I shared my frustration over bloggers who put their barriers against spamming so high that it becomes impossible to comment. My feelings on this matter are best illustrated by the screenshot from The Black Sheep that I picked for this plug.

Finally we raved over stuff that has made us happy recently. My declaration of love this time went to Gavin Rothery, who publishes behind-the-scenes photos from the sets of science fiction movies.  I can never get enough of those.

Words were exchanged, we agreed and we disagreed. How bloody did the discussions get? You’ll find out if you listen to LAMB-cast 112.

Apart from yours truly, you’ll also meet Dylan at Man I Love Films, Tom at Movie Reviews by Tom Clift, Steve at 1001 Plus and Nick at Random Ramblings of a Demented Doorknob.

There’s more information about the episode and where to download it here.

Written by Jessica

May 1, 2012 at 12:42 am

Posted in Uncategorized

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Heh, I hope my blog has a reasonable barrier to entry. Basically new commenters have to clear moderation. There have only been a couple things that I didn’t put through, otherwise the spam filter has done a great job at my site. The ones with captcha or whatever are annoying but really all non-wordpress ones are annoying because I have to type stuff in.

    Bondo

    May 1, 2012 at 12:56 am

    • Yeah that was some of the points I brought up. I think a lot of those barriers are there due to people not knowing about them. They just assume the default settings for Blogger are fine, but that’s not the case. They need to be lowered.

      Jessica

      May 1, 2012 at 12:58 am

  2. I too hate all the captcha and moderation. Mine has Askmet and that is it. I get SPAM but 99.9%is filtered out….

    🙂 I am with you on this one Sister!

    • One of the participants in the show changed his settings right away, which made me feel very pleased. I made a difference!

      Jessica

      May 1, 2012 at 5:28 pm

  3. First time I checked out a lambcast. The moving of one of the mics was very distracting. As for the content it was interesting to listen to. Completely agree with you on the commenting at Blogger, really puts me off leaving or following blogs. Also don’t like that blogger doesn’t send updates if you’ve commented and there have been updates. There are so many blogs I go through daily, so not getting updates it can mean I forget to recheck one and not respond, which could be frustrating. I generally prefer WordPress blogs, especially since it is possible to respond to comments on other blogs right from the dashboard.

    Also liked the fact that you asked if the guy payed to see Battleship. Personally I loved it, but when it comes to action movies I am very easily pleased. It was exactly what I was expecting from it.

    Nostra

    May 3, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    • Ouch. I haven’t listened to the show. I hope it wasn’t mine! I have a good headset and generally manage to stay away from moving the mic… I think…. 🙂

      Glad you’re with me about the commenting problems! I try to spread the word about this, but it can’t be mentioned enough: Bloggers, especially you on Blogger: make sure it’s easy to comment on your blog!

      Jessica

      May 3, 2012 at 8:01 pm

      • I will try to join you in spreading the word and will see if I can write a blog post about it. Your rant inspired me to just put something up about it.

        Nostra

        May 3, 2012 at 10:21 pm


Leave a comment